As a hardcore fan of driving, i always wanted to fit in a particular group of driver genre. There are these people talking about ferrari ,Mclaren or Porche, i think these people like speed or the handling of sports car. Well i hated speed(most of the time). I wanted to push the car to the limit(not in terms of speed), but how far it can leave the tar behind. Then the crave for off-roading started.

It started with a visit to friends place. Had heard many stories of off roading, getting all muddy, slush and water. But on reaching there in a comfortable saloon, it made me think, how can people dislike a comfortable car? As we walked to the porch, a military green 1954 willys was smiling at me. A left hand drive petrol engine, ya it is rare. But, hadnt thought it was so rare it was one of the few (10-11) still with every bolt from the factory. As i sat in the driver seat to get the view above the gun holder, it made wonder is this the view i’m after. The half crank start or the accessories didn’t bother me, only made my heart skip a beat. Well this was all enough to make my day. Made me so out of the world, didnt want to move it even though i was forced to. The willy can never leave me alone now. Btw, my friend has 4 offroaders.

Then we left to a place about 25kms away in another 3 gear jeep. This time i was at the wheel. Although the roads were bad, the feel pushed me towards the boundary. I was like a kid with new toy, experimenting everythin possible. At the end of the journey, i’m proud to tell i’m an offroader.

The way, the skill, the patience, the surrounding can never be got through any vehicle. As a lover of nature, wat better way to connect both the worlds. I wish to get back to my home country to start perfect offroading. Having plans of setting up offroad course, i think i’m over excited. All hard core drivers, atleast once get your legs slushy.